Does Everyone Observe Daylight Saving Time?

This content was created by the National Sleep Foundation


Who’s turning the clocks back (or springing forward) with you?

“Spring forward” and “fall back” are seasonal markers for most parts of the country—but not all. Daylight Saving Time is not observed in Hawaii or Arizona (with the exception of the Navajo Nation), and it’s also skipped in Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. When it comes to the rest of the world, it’s a mix. In fact, only about 70 percent of countries follow Daylight Savings Time. Here’s a rundown of the countries that choose not to mess with their clocks.

Much of the Tropics: Many countries along and below the equator don’t participate in Daylight Savings Time. Due to their location, the daylight hours don’t change much from season to season, so there’s no need to turn their clocks forward or back. However, this isn’t a steadfast rule, as some areas of South America do follow it, including Chili and sections of Brazil.

Parts of Australia: In this country, it’s up to the states and territories to decide whether they want to use Daylight Savings Time, which is why “Down Under” is divided when it comes to who adjusts their clocks. Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory do not observe Daylight Savings Time.

Areas of Asia: China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and India do not observe Daylight Savings Time.

Iceland: While the European Union and the rest of Europe all change their clocks, Iceland chooses not to. 

The Majority of Africa: Most of Africa opts out of Daylight Savings Time, but there are some exceptions, like Egypt, Libya, and Namibia. There has been talk of reintroducing it to South Africa, but as of now, the country does not follow Daylight Savings Time.